Oct 20 - Oct 23

Ravel & Debussy


JUANJO MENA conducts JAVIER PERIANES piano HAYDN Symphony No. 44 in E minor ("Trauer-Symphonie") RAVEL Concerto in G major for Piano and Orchestra GINASTERA Variaciones Concertantes DEBUSSY "Ibéria", No. 2 from Images Two of Spain's most beloved exports – distinguished conductor Juanjo Mena and soloist Javier Perianes – take the stage to celebrate Spanish and Latin contributions to classical music. Haydn's highly dramatic "Trauer Symphony" opens the program followed by Ravel's Concerto in G with jazz and Basque folk music influences. Then, Alberto Ginastera, one of the most innovative Latin composers of the 20th century, amplifies the voice of Argentinian folk music in Variaciones Concertantes. Followed by Debussy's "Ibéria" which clearly invokes the Spanish fascination that became so popular in late 19th century France.


Get Directions

Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center
2301 Flora Street
Dallas, TX 75201
Map It

Add to Calendar